Dizzied by Disney

 

I have a problem. It’s an expensive one. I’m addicted to Disneyland and when I found out the hubby has Ménière’s Disease, I thought our Disney days were over. (Insert hysterical sobbing.)
Imagine my surprise when he said he wanted to attend for the Halloween party last year! (Yeah, this post is over due.)

We came up with a plan of action and did our research. I was sort of disappointed by the fact that my beloved Disneyland couldn’t give me all the info on the food that I needed. They can offer what they think of as low sodium meal options, but that doesn’t fly with Ménière’s. It needs to be sodium, iodine, and preservative free. Seriously, if you have this and own anything that says sodium benzonate, toss it. That goes for nitrates and nitrites as well.

I digress…

I was super happy to find out that there were plenty of clean eating options near the park.

One of the hotels was even in the process of building a Panera Bread in its parking lot. There was also a great pizza spot called the Press Room and it also claimed to have all natural ingredients. If the food isn’t clean, my husband’s body will usually tell us in a day or two.

I’m not sure how clean Starbucks food is, but it’s super easy to find their sodium content at least, and now there is a location right inside of the park!

So, being armed with food options, great earplugs, meclazine, Valium (for a really bad spell), and plenty of opportunity to sweat ( because he can’t take water pills) we were able to have a blast! He even did Star Tours and wasn’t any more dizzy than the rest of us!

Don’t let Ménière’s stop you from at least attempting to do what you love. We had a back up plan. A quiet and cool hotel room with plenty of extra trash bags in case it got ugly. Thankfully we didn’t need it.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. trishafaye says:

    Yay! I’m glad you had a happy time, successfully managing hubby’s Meniere’s while there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Natasha says:

      Thank you! We have just grown used to taking back up snacks and our own food when necessary. It can be done if we’re careful!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

